Friday, October 26, 2012

What to Read After Beautiful Disaster

After reading Beautiful Disaster by Jamie McGuire did everyone get stuck in a rut as bad as we did? Travis left us in a frenzy, almost in straight panic attack mode. It took us months to get over him....well at least it took me months....I still don't think Ashley is quite over him, lol.

Of course, there will never be another Travis, but a girl can dream can't she? This is a work in progress, and probably the hardest list I have had to make to date....Travis has not been easy getting over, but I think these books will help, they helped me (I can't speak for Ashley, I'm sure she still cries for him every night before going to bed---she is gonna kick my ass for that!).

Slammed by Colleen Hoover- Will, my sweet, sweet Will...Slammed is one of the best books I have ever accidentally purchased. It was probably the best accident I ever made. Will is not a bad boy like Travis, but Travis wasn't just a bad boy either...he had many other qualities and I found myself forgetting about Travis while I stormed through Slammed.

After you read Slammed, I know you will want to move on to book 2, Point of Retreat...if possible I loved it more than Slammed...maybe even more than Travis.

Thoughtless by S.C. Stephens- The angst in this book probably surpasses the angst we felt while reading Beautiful Disaster (you think it's impossible? oh, it's possible!). I thought I couldn't sleep after finishing Beautiful Disaster.... I couldn't sleep at ALL while reading Thoughtless....oh and just when I thought it was safe, I started book 2 (Effortless) like and idiot and lost even more sleep!

Hearts in Darkness by Laura Kaye- This was a very short book. I wanted so much more but was extremely pleased with what I got. I read this one afternoon in about an hour and a half. I know you say that doesn't seem like much reading, but I promise you will not be disappointed with this! Remember how Travis was all bad boy on the outside but then but soft and squishy on the inside? Same thing in this one.

How to Kill a Rock Star by Tiffanie DeBartolo- HOW could I forget to add this!! This book killed me! I mean really killed me!! It's so beautiful and poetic and I'm going along like no she didn't, yes she did....and then bam! Smack hard in the face, heart laying on the floor, not even coherent enough to formulate a sentence! If you don't read any suggestion from my list, read this! It will give you the most bang for your buck, bigger than all of the book above combined! Well....maybe I'm overreacting, but once you read this you will see why.

Fall From Grace by Christine Zolendz- This was actually our very first review...and what a review it was! This book was only $1.50 when I purchased and it was Christine's first book (that I know of...). I did not expect it to be as addicting as it was! You know how it is, we go along being all cheap and not wanting to spend a lot of money and half the time the freebies and cheapies aren't that great, they aren't bad but not great either. This one! Well worth it! It's Travis, meets Kellan (Thoughtless). The singer of a local band keeps chasing a girl that will have nothing to do with him...sound familiar?

Crash by Nicole Williams- Jude Ryder has a past that can put most of our bad boys to shame...and he isn't even 18 yet! He knows he has no future that doesn't include permanent jail time. Lucy, a pretty sweet girl falls for Jude before she knows his past. Once she learns about him she knows he is no good for her, but they can't stay away from each other. It's like a magnet. I can't pin point what it is exactly about this book that will draw you in...maybe it's Jude's good heart despite his bad attitude..

Easy by Tammara Webber- This is so much like Beautiful Disaster without being Beautiful Disaster it's insane! The setting is on a college campus and we get to experience the ex boyfriends, sick frat parties, best friends that stay by you no matter what, and this random hot guy that keeps showing get the girl of course...ahg I just love it! Lucas is far from the temper that Travis has, but he still has a lot of Travis qualities, and the intensity is there (still not Travis intensity, but so intense!)He is tatted up and pierced and a complete loner. No one can take Travis's place, but Lucas comes pretty close. He is sure to help you get out of any funk that you're in.

I'm still working on finding the perfect books to read after Beautiful Disaster. If you have any suggestions please send them my way!

Related Posts:
Fall From Grace by Christine Zolendz
Thoughtless by S.C. Stephens

No comments:

Post a Comment